Down The Road Wherever (2LP)

In stock
Product Code:

Down The Road Wherever is the ninth solo album from the mind & soul behind Dire Straits, Mark Knopfler.

Ask Mark Knopfler to explain the title of his ninth solo studio album and he will tell you that Down The Road Wherever is a line from one of the tracks: 'One Song At A Time.' He'll give the credit for that title phrase to a sadly departed friend with whom he shared a lifelong love of songwriting and guitar playing, and their endless potential to change lives.

‘I remember my pal Chet Atkins once saying that he picked his way out of poverty one song at a time, and it just stuck in my mind,’ says Mark. ‘You get to an age where it is a few songs. But Down The Road Wherever seems to be appropriate, just because it's what I've always done. I've always tried to keep my own geography happening in the songs, that applies there as well.’ In One Song At A Time' that autobiographical geography pinpoints Deptford, where the up-and-coming Dire Straits began to make their way, one song at a time. 

Vinyl Tracklisting

  1. Trapper Man
  2. Back On The Dance Floor
  3. Nobody's Child
  4. Nobody Does That
  5. Good On You Son
  6. Floating Away
  7. One Song At A Time
  8. Heavy Up
  9. Slow Learner
  10. Just A Boy Away From Home 
  11. My Bacon Roll
  12. When You Leave
  13. Matchstick Man
© 2018 Universal Music Australia Pty Limited